Friday Morning

December 7, 2011

 

On a hazy, Friday morning, I entered the cathedral,

the one with  soaring spires,

large, brass doors,

the dark, vaulted aisle that smells like wax and ancient, incense smoke.

 

I saw the Archbishop there and asked him about life.

Brows wrinkled,

grey eyes bright,

he turned as if no one had ever asked and gave me the answer:

 

“I am a man, who fears God.

People think I am holy.

 

Behind my lips I hide a frown,

Beneath fine robes hides my sorrow.

 

Some honor me for who I am not.

Others hate me for who I am.

 

I am on trial because my brother sins,

They took me to court for bearing a cross.”

 

Profound words,

short, poignant,

so shameful and truly-spoken,

they stayed with me for a very, very long time.

Leave a Reply

